“The LORD is compassionate and merciful, slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love.”

uncle Elmo would drive me clear across town for jr. high youth group every week when I lived with him for some time. he loved me deeply and was always extending his energy and goodness for my sake… so lost in my teen years at one point when I lived in Big Bear, he stayed on the phone with me, reassuring me that he was there for me no matter what, not to give up on life. hands down, he was my favorite. when I came home one night at 16 from partying with the skater boys, I walked in and heard uncle Elmo had died that day of an asthma attack. that’s the day I stopped talking to God. I couldn’t grasp it and since it made no sense, I stayed angry at God. 4 years later, I was driving with my friend  on the highway. as we started on the loop to switch freeways, a car moving from the 91W to the 15S (the highest point at the interchange) came flying over the edge, smacking down on the 91E – right in front of us. seeing the man, with his face half missing, laying there – in pure desperation – after 4 years, i called out for God & prayed.

there have been many walks with Jesus through the years… when I spit in His face with anger & walked away from Him… when I walked (short-winded) with Him, only when I was completely and helplessly hopeless… when i made the decision to love another before Him and ran from Him… and when I walked with Him daily – needing Him, His Grace & Mercy, loving Him, sharing my heart with Him, praising Him, learning life from Him, standing in awe of Him, desiring to draw closer to Him day by day.

grateful for all parts of my journey thus far, to have lived it and to now share it. grateful for the views on the walk of the present. grateful to God for loving and pursuing me endlessly.